Header Ban

Champions League Playoff: Salzburg fails again

For the 13th time in a row, Salzburg fails in qualifying for the Champions League. Within seconds, the Austrian champions lost their good starting position against Red Star Belgrade.

Until the 65th Minute everything was in favor for Salzburg in the playoff match. After the goalless draw in Belgrade, the hosts led 2-0. Former grasshopper Munas Dabbur had hit shortly before and after the break. The long-term defeated Serbs turned the game on its head after a good hour: They hit twice within 77 seconds and decided thanks to the away goals the duel for themselves.

Not only for Salzburg, but also for Red Bull the curse stops. Since the beverage company took over the club in 2005, Salzburg tried eleven times in vain to qualify in the Champions League. For Red Star Belgrade, the master cup winner of 1991, it is the seventh attempt and the first participation in the group stage of the Champions League.

PSV Eindhoven (against BATE Borisov) and Benfica Lisbon were the last teams to qualify for the group stage on Wednesday alongside Red Star Belgrade.

The 32 qualified teams:

Pot 1: Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid, FC Barcelona, ​​Bayern Munich, Manchester City, Juventus, Paris Saint-Germain, Lokomotiv Moscow.

Pot 2: Borussia Dortmund, FC Porto, Manchester United, Shakhtar Donetsk, (Benfica Lisbon), Napoli, Tottenham, AS Roma.

Pot 3: Liverpool, Schalke, Lyon, Monaco, Ajax Amsterdam, CSKA Moscow, PSV Eindhoven, Valencia.

Pot 4: Viktoria Pilsen, Club Bruges, Galatasaray Istanbul, YOUNG BOYS, Inter Milan, Hoffenheim, Red Star Belgrade, AEK Athens.

The draw for the groups will take place on Thursday (18.00h) in Monaco.
Powered by Blogger.