Header Ban

Brazil GP: Hamilton wins - Mercedes take 5th consecutive Constructors title

Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton has won the Brazilian Grand Prix, securing Mercedes's constructors' championship for the fifth time in a row.

Two weeks after his fifth triumph as driver, the Briton finishes ahead of driver Max Verstappen in a chaotic race. Third in a gripping penultimate race of the season was Sebastian Vettel's teammate Kimi Raikkonen in Ferrari. Vettel had to settle for sixth position. For Hamilton it was already the tenth success of this year.

Starting from fifth place Verstappen continued to fight forward - and showed on lap 40 a spectacular overtaking maneuver. At the end of the start-finish straight, he pulled out of the slipstream and passed leader Hamilton.

Only four laps later, Esteban Ocon tried to unlap himself on his former F3 rival but spinned out the race leader in the process. The Red Bull driver turned, quickly came back on the track, but had yet to let Hamilton pass. Ocon got a ten-second stop-and-go penalty for the action.

Asked about the scene that probably cost him the win, Verstappen said after the race: "We had a fast car and then such an idiot comes."

Powered by Blogger.