Header Ban

FIFA Names Best Players of 2018-2019 Season

Lionel Messi was awarded FIFA's world player of the year for the sixth time in his career. The latest award for the Argentina and Barcelona forward moves him one ahead of Ronaldo, who was also among the finalists. Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have dominated the award since 2008, with their string of victories only interrupted by Luka Modric last year.

Thousands of players from around the globe participated in the vote organized by world player's union FIFPro.

The FIFA goalkeeper of the year is Alisson Becker of Liverpool and Brazil. In defence it's Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool) and Marcelo Vieira da Silva Júnior (Brazil, Real Madrid). The midfield features Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands, Ajax) and Eden Hazard (Belgium, Real Madrid).

Upfront, it's Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Messi (Argentina, Barcelona) and Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus).

The United States forward Megan Rapinoe was awarded FIFA women's player of the year. Rapinoe scored six goals to help the US team win the women's World Cup, earning her the Golden Boot for the tournament's top scorer and the Golden Ball as the top player. The other finalist for the award was England forward Lucy Bronze.

Jurgen Klopp was chosen coach of the year at the FIFA Best ceremony after leading Liverpool to the Champions League title.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.