Header Ban

Formula 1's Turkish GP LIVE - Latest news and updates

The 16th race in the Formula 1 season gets underway in Istanbul on Sunday, with the much anticipated battle to commence at 13:00 BST. Lewis Hamilton managed to minimise the damage of his 10-place engine penalty by finishing first in qualifying on Saturday and will thus start the race from 11th position. On this Turkish GP live blog, we'll have all the updates from Istanbul Park.

Turkish Grand Prix Live Coverage - F1 Live Text commentaries Updated

This is the start of our live blog for the Turkish Grand Prix. We'll have all the build-up and then updates from the session itself, with the entries nearest the top the most recent ones.

12:40 BST: Ones to Watch

Everyone has made it to the grid without incident, which is better than Antonio Giovinazzi managed last year, and there are plenty of drivers happy to see the damp Turkish tarmac. Most notably, Pierre Gasly who topped the wet FP3 session yesterday and starts fourth this afternoon. He will be one to keep an eye on at the start as will be Fernando Alonso who has a knack for making super starts. Lando Norris may also be encouraged after his supreme pace in tricky conditions in both Belgium and Russia this season. And this could also allow Lewis Hamilton a good chance of turning 11th on the grid into victory, if he can get through the first lap unscathed.

11:55 BST: Welcome to Race Day

Here we go again. We are just one hour away from lights out for the 2021 Turkish Grand Prix and as is becoming tradition in recent weeks, it's another soggy Sunday with intermediate tyres looking highly likely for much of today's race. Cool temperatures also means that the drying of the circuit will be considerably slower than ideal for the teams. The perfect recipe for a classic Grand Prix!

Starting grid for Turkish GP

Lewis Hamilton will start in 11th for the Turkish Grand Prix due to his 10-place penalty, so everyone from Vettel up will start one place ahead.

  1. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
  2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  4. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
  5. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
  6. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  7. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  8. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  9. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
  10. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
  11. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) - 10 place grid penalty
  12. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  13. George Russell (Williams)
  14. Mick Schumacher (Haas)
  15. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
  16. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
  17. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
  18. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
  19. Nikita Mazepin (Haas)
  20. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) - Grid penalty

Adblock test (Why?)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.