Header Ban

Formula 1's Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Race LIVE

The 2021 Formula 1 championship will be decided this Sunday and our Abu Dhabi Grand Prix live blog will bring you all the action from the Yas Marina Circuit. Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton are level on points going into this race, but the Dutchman has the tiebreaker of most Grand Prix wins and he also has pole position. It should be fascinating and we'll have the latest updates right here.

F1 Yas Marina GP - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Race Live Latest updates

This is the start of our live blog for the F1 title decider between Verstappen and Hamilton. Our Abu Dhabi Grand Prix updates that are nearest the top are the most recent ones.

12:40 GMT: Plenty to race for

It's not just Verstappen and Hamilton who have something to race for today. Lando Norris could secure fifth in the drivers' standings if he can outscore Charles Leclerc by five or more points, and he's in a great place to do so from third on the grid. Sergio Perez could also play a huge role in the title fight if he can get ahead of Hamilton early on.

12:20 GMT: Pit lane open

The engines are roaring almost as much as the crowd as the pit lane opens and the cars make their way to the grid for the final time in 2021. The big talk is on tyres, with Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton starting the race on different compunds (Max on softs, Lewis on mediums). Despite that, though, Pirelli expect the one-stop to be the fastest, no matter the starting tyre with hard tyres the choice at the stop. The altered Yas Marina layout hasn't affected tyre wear enough for a two-stop to become profitable unless a safety car intervenes.

12:00 GMT: 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Starting Grid

The front of today's grid features Max Verstappen, Lewis Hamilton and Lando Norris, but Sergio Perez in fourth will be looking to get a good start and make life difficult for Hamilton. Remember: we only have 19 drivers for today's race after Haas' Nikita Mazepin tested positive for COVID-19.

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  3. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  6. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
  7. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  8. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
  9. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  10. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
  11. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
  12. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
  13. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  14. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
  15. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
  16. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
  17. George Russell (Williams)
  18. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
  19. Mick Schumacher (Haas)

11:30 GMT: Verstappen's pole qualifying lap

Max Verstappen will begin in pole position for today's Abu Dhabi Grand Prix after setting a time of 1:22.109 during Q3 yesterday. Here is how his pole-setting lap went.

11:00 GMT: The forgotten storyline

A lot of focus has been placed on who will win the Formula 1 title, with Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton coming into the last race level on points at the top of the standings, but one storyline that has been largely overlooked is the fact that this will be Kimi Raikkonen's last-ever race in F1.

10:30 GMT: Mazepin will miss last F1 race of the season

Haas driver Nikita Mazepin has tested positive for COVID-19 and will therefore miss the final race of the season in Abu Dhabi, with the American team opting to not call up a replacement for the Russian driver. Therefore, Mick Schumacher will be their only representative on the track today.

10:00 GMT: What time does the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix start?

The race of the Abu Dhabi GP weekend gets going at 17:00 local time in the UAE, which is 13:00 GMT for fans in the United Kingdom, who can follow along on Sky Sports. It'll be ESPN showing the race in the USA, where the start time is 08:00 EST on the east coast. For other start times from around the world, this graphic has the details.

09:30 GMT: It's Verstappen on pole for the Abu Dhabi GP

Max Verstappen will start this Sunday's race from the front of the grid, having benefited from a slipstream provided by Red Bull teammate Sergio Perez to post the fastest lap on Saturday, ahead of second-placed Lewis Hamilton. It's Lando Norris third, so he'll have the best seat to the start of the world championship duel.

Adblock test (Why?)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.