Header Ban

NFL Playoffs Schedule: What happens after the NFL Playoffs?

The NFL playoffs bring together the best teams from the regular season each year. It is a direct elimination tournament held to determine the league champion. Currently, seven teams from each of the league's two conferences qualify for the playoffs.

There is a playoff procedure if necessary. The season ends with the most coveted game for all teams: the Super Bowl, the league's championship game in which the best teams from each conference face off to become the NFL champion.

The NFL playoffs history dates back to the first NFL championship game in 1933. In the early years, however, qualification for the game was based solely on regular season records.

The 32-team NFL is divided into two conferences, the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC).

Playoff format change

The NFL postseason is the oldest postseason among the major professional sports leagues in the United States.

From 1933 to 1966, the NFL postseason consisted only of the NFL Championship Game, which pitted the two league winners against each other.

After 1967, the playoffs expanded their quotas and allowed four teams to qualify for the tournament. When the league merged with the American Football League (AFL) in 1970, the playoffs increased to eight teams.

The playoffs were expanded to ten teams in 1978, 12 in 1990 and 14 in 2020.

Adblock test (Why?)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.