Header Ban

Verstappen dominates ahead of Sainz and Hamilton

Max Verstappen saw off a late push from Carlos Sainz to claim his sixth win of the Formula 1 season at the Canadian Grand Prix.

The victory capped off an almost-perfect weekend for the Dutchman, who took pole on Saturday before extending his World Championship lead over teammate Sergio Perez to 46 points on Sunday.

The Mexican failed to finish the race after retiring early on with a suspected gearbox issue. That led to Verstappen ceding the lead to Sainz after pitting for new tyres under the resulting Virtual Safety Car.

Sainz's pit stop didn't come until much later on after Mick Schumacher pulled off track to retire, with the two once again swapping places when Verstappen came in for his second stop on Lap 43.

Yuki Tsunoda crashed on his way out of the pits, resulting in a Safety Car, and Sainz took advantage of the situation to make a second stop of his own, though he rejoined behind the Dutchman.

Once the race resumed, Sainz did all that he could to find a way past Verstappen lap after lap. Unfortunately for the Spaniard, the Red Bull driver didn't crack, as he crossed the line a second ahead of his rival for his sixth win of the season.

The two Mercedes followed them home, Lewis Hamilton ahead of George Russell, while Charles Leclerc battled back from 19th on the grid to finish fifth.

Esteban Ocon, Fernando Alonso, Valtteri Bottas, Zhou Guanyu and Lance Stroll rounded out the Top 10.

Canadian Grand Prix Top 10

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  4. George Russell (Mercedes)
  5. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  6. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  7. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
  8. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  9. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
  10. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

F1 2022 Drivers' Championship

  1. Max Verstappen - 175 points
  2. Sergio Perez - 129 points
  3. Charles Leclerc - 126 points
  4. George Russell - 111 points
  5. Carlos Sainz - 102 points
  6. Lewis Hamilton - 77 points
  7. Lando Norris - 50 points
  8. Valtteri Bottas - 44 points
  9. Esteban Ocon - 39 points
  10. Fernando Alonso - 22 points

Adblock test (Why?)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.