Header Ban

Leclerc takes pole in wet Singapore GP qualifying, as Verstappen angrily aborts

Charles Leclerc will start from pole position in Sunday's Singapore Grand Prix, with the Ferrari man ahead of Red Bull's Sergio Perez and Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton.

Championship leader Max Verstappen, who has a chance of clinching the title this weekend, had a frustrating session and will start eighth, having been bizarrely told by Red Bull to abort his final attempt at the end of Q3.

"I don't get it?! What the f**k is this about?!" the Dutchman screamed over the radio.

The whole session was a difficult one for the drivers. Even though it wasn't raining at the time, the track remained wet from an earlier downpour and took a long time to dry.

Some drivers tried dry tyres in Q2, but it didn't work as the Marina Bay circuit wasn't dry enough for slicks until the end of Q3.

Leclerc is delighted with his Singapore Grand Prix pole position

With a time of 1:49.412, Leclerc finished just 0.022 seconds ahead of Sergio Perez and the Monegasque driver was delighted with the way the session ended.

"It's been a very, very tricky qualifying," he said.

"In Q3 we didn't know what to do, we went for the soft at the last minute.

"I made a mistake in my last lap so I didn't think I'd get pole but it was just enough.

"Considering the Friday we had, we recovered well. We don't have much data for the race but I'm sure we can win."

Full Singapore Grand Prix starting grid

  1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  2. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  5. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
  6. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  7. Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri)
  8. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  9. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
  10. Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri)
  11. George Russell (Mercedes)
  12. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  13. Mick Schumacher (Haas)
  14. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
  15. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)
  16. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  17. Daniel Rcicciardo (McLaren)
  18. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  19. Alexander Albon (Williams)
  20. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.