Header Ban

The LIV stars participating at the Augusta Masters

This year's Augusta Masters is the first that will coincide with the LIV Golf tour.

The LIV Golf tour is an important course that had not yet kicked off at this point last year.

Augusta National did not close its doors this year to those who met the eligibility criteria, but left things open regarding future developments.

The LIV Golf tournament is slightly different to others in that, despite belonging to the PGA Tour calendar, the organizer of the tournament is entirely in charge of proceedings.

Based on the current criteria, the 18 players who play at the LIV will be able to participate at Georgia's legendary course.

The 18 players are: Sergio Garcia, Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Brooks Koepka, Bryson DeChambeau, Cameron Smith, Charl Schwartzel, Bubba Watson, Patrick Reed, Mito Peirera, Joaquin Niemann, Abraham Ancer, Thomas Pieters, Harold Varner III, Jason Kokrak , Kevin Na and Louis Oosthuizen.

The spotlight will be on Australian, Cameron Smith, in 2022 became the first player in history to play all four rounds of the Masters under 70 strokes.

Eligibility regulations may be subject to amendments

Despite the various exemptions, the regulations with regards to eligibility and participation in the tournament boil down to the matter of world ranking.

Players who, on January 1, are among the top 50 and those who just the week before the tournament are also in the 'top 50' will be invited to the event.

In any case, we will have to wait in order to find out if any eligibility criteria are changed going forward.

The U.S. press has contemplated the possibility of Augusta National agreeing to veto players who have been suspended by their tour.

This occurred in the cases of Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Sergio Garcia and Bubba Watson.

That being said, a golf star and champion will likely never be left out of the tournament, ever.

Adblock test (Why?)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.