Header Ban

Meet the NFL's 2023 Walter Payton Man of the Year nominees

The NFL season is not just about touchdowns, tackles, and victories on the field; it's also about recognizing the players who go above and beyond to make a positive impact in their communities.

On Tuesday, the league revealed the nominees for the prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award.

The award highlights players who embody the spirit of the late Hall of Fame running back, Walter Payton, through their outstanding community service.

Man of the Year Award is all about communities

Established in 1970 and renamed in 1999 in honor of Walter Payton, this award is the pinnacle of recognition for NFL players who not only excel in their athletic endeavors but also show an unwavering commitment to creating a lasting positive impact beyond the game.

A total of 32 nominees, one from each NFL team, are selected based on their dedication to various community service initiatives.

The 2023 nominees, including stars like Patrick Mahomes, Maxx Crosby, Cooper Kupp, and Saquon Barkley, represent a diverse group of players dedicated to making a difference.

Each nominee is set to receive up to $55,000 for their charitable efforts, while the eventual winner will be awarded a substantial $250,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

Starting from Week 14 and continuing through the end of the season, the nominees will proudly wear a distinctive Man of the Year helmet decal to showcase their achievements both on and off the field.

Select stadiums will also feature goal post wraps adorned with the NFL Man of the Year trophy silhouette, adding a visual tribute to these players' exceptional contributions.

Since its inception, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award has honored 56 legends and players, including current stars like Dak Prescott, Russell Wilson, and Calais Campbell, who wear a Man of the Year patch on their jersey throughout the season.

Full list of Walter Payton Man of the Year nominees:

  • Arizona Cardinals, Jonathan Ledbetter
  • Atlanta Falcons, Bradley Pinion
  • Baltimore Ravens, Roquan Smith
  • Buffalo Bills, Dion Dawkins
  • Carolina Panthers, Bradley Bozeman
  • Chicago Bears, Justin Jones
  • Cincinnati Bengals, Ted Karras
  • Cleveland Browns, Anthony Walker Jr.
  • Dallas Cowboys, DeMarcus Lawrence
  • Denver Broncos, Garett Bolles
  • Detroit Lions, Frank Ragnow
  • Green Bay Packers, De'Vondre Campbell
  • Houston Texans, Jon Weeks
  • Indianapolis Colts, Zaire Franklin
  • Jacksonville Jaguars, Dawuane Smoot
  • Kansas City Chiefs, Patrick Mahomes
  • Las Vegas Raiders, Maxx Crosby
  • Los Angeles Chargers, Derwin James Jr.
  • Los Angeles Rams, Cooper Kupp
  • Miami Dolphins, Alec Ingold
  • Minnesota Vikings, Harrison Phillips
  • New England Patriots, Jonathan Jones
  • New Orleans Saints, Tyrann Mathieu
  • New York Giants, Saquon Barkley
  • New York Jets, Solomon Thomas
  • Philadelphia Eagles, Lane Johnson
  • Pittsburgh Steelers, Cameron Heyward
  • San Francisco 49ers, Arik Armstead
  • Seattle Seahawks, Bobby Wagner
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Antoine Winfield Jr.
  • Tennessee Titans, Jeffery Simmons
  • Washington Commanders, Terry McLaurin

The 2023 Walter Payton Man of the Year will be unveiled at the NFL Honors award show on Thursday, February 8th in the week leading to Super Bowl LVIII in Las Vegas.

Adblock test (Why?)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.