Header Ads

Terence Crawford defeats Amir Khan through TKO to retain WBO welterweight title


Terence Crawford remains the measure of all things welterweight. The American celebrated a technical knockout in the sixth round against Amir Khan, but then the press talked more about his English opponent.

Could or did not Amir Khan want to continue against Terence Crawford? This question occupies the whole of England today, after the former double world champion in super-lightweight after a low blow in the sixth round not boxed against the Americans. In a push Khan Crawford dived and accidentally landed a left below the waist line Khan. The Englishman turned away immediately and received his recovery time from the referee.

But even during the first two minutes Khan made it clear he could not continue after the hit. This was also reported by Khan coach Virgil Hunter, so the fight was stopped after 47 seconds of the sixth round and Terence Crawford was declared the winner by technical knockout. Had the English camp hoped for a disqualification? Or just realized that against "Bud" Crawford was no trick to get. In any case, an unsatisfactory end to a fight that Crawford had clearly determined by then.
Powered by Blogger.